Farmers Market Spring Onion

So after spending the last few weeks stressing out over the end of my semester I’m finally done for the summer. After day, after day of take out pizza, grilled cheese and whatever other food can be thrown together in 5 minutes, I was looking forward to actually cooking. On one of my study breaks I took a walk down to the Nashville Farmers Market and saw bin after bin of the green and white spring onions. They were so pretty I decided I needed to find something to cook them with. On that same trip I was drawn by the smoky smell to the country ham/bacon stand and bought country bacon for the first time ever.

Country BaconSpring OnionGoat Cheese

I figured if I combined the spring onions, bacon and some goat cheese I could come up with a nice savory tart. Given that I hadn’t cooked in a good two weeks, I figured that a flaky tart dough might be beyond my skills on a Thursday night, so I went with some store bought puff pastry.

Spring Onion Tart UnBaked

I also figured that a variation of my go-to quiche recipe could be used for the tart filling – so I decided to risk combining goat cheese, an egg and a few tablespoons of sour cream with a bit of pepper. The mixture was thick but it held up well to the bacon and caramelized spring onions.

Baked Spring Onion Tart

In the end, my experiment was a success – the tart was the right combination of salty from the bacon, tart from the goat cheese, and just a tiny bit sweet from the caramelized spring onion. I think I may have found a new party food – cut up into small squares and this could be a one bite hors d’oeuvre. Combined with a nice white Viognier, it was the perfect meal to celebrate the end of a very long semester….

Spring Onion, Bacon, and Goat Cheese Tart

Ingredients:

A few strips of bacon

1 T. Butter

3-4 spring onions (1 large regular onion would work as well) sliced

1 sheet of puff pastry defrosted

6oz of Goat Cheese

1 egg

2 T. Sour Cream

Pepper

1 egg yolk (for egg wash)

Pre-heat oven to 350 degree

Cut the bacon into pieces and sauté until brown. Transfer the bacon bits onto a paper towel, and drain the fat out of the pan, but don’t wipe it out. Add the butter to the pan and after it melts, add the sliced onions. After sautéing on medium for 5 minutes, turn the heat down to low and caramelize the onions for 10-15 minutes, until brown and caramely.

Take 4oz or 2/3 of the goat cheese and crumble it into a bowl. Add the egg and whisk the mixture together until smooth. Add in the sour cream and pepper and whisk until pale yellow and creamy. *Note if your bacon is not very salty you may want to add 1/4 t of salt to this mixture.

Lay the defrosted puff pastry on a Silpat or parchment paper on a cookie sheet. Using a pizza cutter, trim a ¼ in strip off of each side of the puff pastry, then lay those pieces on the edge of the remaining puff pastry creating a frame. Dock the inside of the puff pastry frame with a fork . Spread of the goat cheese and egg mixture into the middle of the puff pastry frame. Sprinkle the onions, bacon and remaining goat cheese crumbles over the egg mixture. Combine the egg yolk with a tablespoon of water and brush the egg wash on the exposed puff pastry egg.

Place in the oven and bake for 25 minutes until golden. Let sit for 5 minutes and cut into the size pieces needed.